top of page

the Breeze

Please send us your comments

Thanks! Message sent.

new logo.jpg


ISLAND GARDENS TO THE FORE IN SPECTACULAR IN 2023 GARDEN AWARDS The 2023 SMB Island Garden Awards have been a huge success in just their second year. A big crowd of fellow gardeners turned up to The Farm, Russell Island, to see which garden entries would take out this year’s awards. And it was definitely a surprise for Michelle Porter when her garden in Browning Street was initially announced as the ‘Best Garden’ on Russell Island. The other individual island garden winners then followed with the individual Kim Richards Award island winners: Lamb Island Trophy, Christopher Cox and Yani Haigh; Karragarra Island, Paul and Caroline McCallum; Macleay Island, Amanda Hobson; Russell Island, Michelle Porter. Out of that group, the overall island winner was announced and it turned out to be Russell Island’s Michelle Porter and her garden winning the overall prize. In doing so, she won a $500 cash prize courtesy of your Friendly Bay Islander. The event was a success for another reason. An additional $1000 plus was raised by raffles and fund raising to aid the Pet Ambulance Service on the islands. Sponsors included Kim Richards MP, Chris McGregor of Bay Islands Property, Redland City Council and The Friendly Bay Islander. The full results: Lamb Island: Themed Garden, Michelle Sprenger; Garden of the Future, Christopher Cox and Yani Haigh. Karragarra Island: Themed Garden, Paul and Caroline McCallum; Pocket Garden, Glynis Enright; Edible Garden, Karragarra Island Community Garden. Macleay Island: Themed Garden, Beth Hetherington; Pocket Garden, Helen Cox; Edible Garden, Jasmin Symons; Artistic Garden, Fay Lindsay; Garden of the Future, Amanda Hobson. Russell Island: Themed Garden, Sandy Kirby; Pocket Garden, Jane Hooper; Edible Garden, Jim Bonar; Artistic Garden, Michelle Porter; Garden of the Future, Janelle Reid. Champion Gardens for Kim Richards Trophy: Champion Garden Lamb Island, Christopher Cox and Yani Haigh; Champion Garden Karragarra Island, Paul and Caroline McCallum; Champion Garden Macleay Island, Amanda Hobson; Champion Garden Russell Island, Michelle Porter. The Friendly Bay Islander Champion Garden All Islands: Michelle Porter The Turning Point Gallery People’s Choice Award: Christopher Cox and Yani Haigh Lamb Island

• Garden of the Year winner Michelle Porter with sponsors Gerard Thompson, Jasper representing MP Kim Richards, trophy maker Paul Bantoft and Chris McGregor of Bay Island Properties.



bottom of page