top of page

the Breeze

Please send us your comments

Thanks! Message sent.

new logo.jpg



Redland City Council has officially sworn in the new council.

Mayor Jos Mitchell and 10 Divisional Councillors were sworn in at a Declaration of Office ceremony at Redland Performing Arts Centre on Monday 8 April 2024.

The Divisional Councillors are: Wendy Boglary (Division 1), Peter Mitchell (Division 2), Paul Golle (Division 3), Lance Hewlett (Division 4), Shane Rendalls (Division 5), Julie Talty (Division 6), Rowanne McKenzie (Division 7), Tracey Huges (Division 8), Jason Colley (Division 9) and Paul Bishop (Division 10).

The ceremony was followed by a short post-election meeting, at which Mayor Jos Mitchell congratulated the new Council and thanked them for their decision to seek to represent, and continue representing, the community.

“We all bring a range of knowledge and skills to share … and our collective council is here to work for our community,” she said.

“Council's operation is not an easy undertaking. It is important to acknowledge the sheer volume of work that has been done by staff to deliver services and infrastructure continuously.

“Obviously, like everything in life, there are aspects of Council’s function that can be improved and with every iteration of the elected council, which is the voice of the community, that is the goal.

“It is my greatest wish that we all work together to do what our community elected us to do – to ensure the functions of Council are met in the best way possible.

"It is an honour to be elected to represent Redland City by our community.

“An open and collegial approach with a focus on working on the jobs at hand is what our community has stated it wants.

“I am looking forward to working with Councillors, operational staff and our community."

During the meeting, a Deputy Mayor and Chair and Deputy Chair to the Redland City Local Disaster Management Group were appointed.

Division 6 Councillor Julie Talty was elected Deputy Mayor for a one-year term.

The Mayor congratulated Cr Talty on her appointment.

“Cr Talty has served as Deputy Mayor for the past four years and has demonstrated her commitment to the community over the past 12 years,” she said.

“I look forward to working with Cr Talty to collaboratively lead this city over the next 12 months.”

Cr Talty said it was an honour to be chosen by her fellow Councillors to take up the role of Deputy Mayor.

“I am looking forward to serving not only the residents of Division 6 but the entire Redlands Coast community,” Cr Talty said.

“We have been collectively entrusted to lead this city by the people of Redlands and I thank my fellow Councillors for the trust they have placed in me through this appointment.”

Councillors also formally endorsed Mayor Jos Mitchell and Deputy Mayor Julie Talty as Chair and Deputy Chair, respectively, of the Redland City Local Disaster Management Group.

The new Council also adopted the meeting schedule for the year, with the first full General Meeting held on Thursday 18 April.


• Redland City Council for 2024: (front row from left) Cr Rowanne McKenzie, Cr Peter Mitchell, Mayor Jos Mitchell, Deputy Mayor Julie Talty, Cr Jason Colley, (back row from left) Cr Wendy Boglary, Cr Shane Rendalls, Cr Lance Hewlett, Cr Paul Golle, Cr Paul Bishop and Cr Tracey Huges. Photo: Papillon Studio Photography



bottom of page