top of page

the Breeze

Please send us your comments

Thanks! Message sent.

new logo.jpg


ISLAND SOCCER Our first season with Football Brisbane has come to an end, but the Children had great experience over this strange Covid season. Having played up an age next season will see them playing more of their own age. Hopefully thing will be a little more normal come the new season in March. Saturday training will start up 30th January from 9.30 am in preparation; any new player`s born in 2013 for under 8`s or 2012 for under 9`s please make contact with Mick Marriott 0401483079, as will have children`s names on the back of new shirts. Season expected start date is Saturday 23rd April. Yearly sign-on fee around $180, with 9 home games & 9 away games, plus any pre season games, All home games played on the new Russell Island sports oval just up from IGA off Union street. Would love to have more teams but means parents are needed to help with coaching and running of the teams if you are interested. Please check out our facebook page...bayislandsunitedfc LADIES GOLF The ladies only played 3 games this month ,As most were dressed up, and enjoying Melbourne Cup day. November Monthly Medal was won by Sandy Rawlinson. R/up was the very consistent Barb Garvey. Tuesday 17th was a mixed Ambrose event, Sponsored by Macleay Island Taxi’s. Zan and David always put on great food and prizes, The Winning combination of S. Rawlinson and L. Dower won the day. S. Cardile and S. Domrow were R/up. Nov. 24th. We all arrived at golf hoping to win Medal of Medalist trophy, which we try hard all year to qualify for, a very special day on our calendar. Island Self Storage on Russell Is, have sponsored this event for many years, Glynis Enright was there to present the trophy and prizes on behalf of the company and also enjoy the food and a cool drink on such a hot day. The proud and happy winner this year is J. Bray. R/up L. Robertson. 3rd M. Duncan This is the last report for the ladies this year, the ladies have a summer break and resume competition first Tuesday in February. I would like to wish everyone, A very Merry Christmas and a safe, Covid free New Year. And as always special thank you and cheers to all of our sponsors. Lyn Robertson, Ladies Captain. BAY ISLAND GOLF CLUB MEN’S GOLF REPORT: It’s great to see covid restrictions being eased. Saturday October 17th was a 3 person Ambrose game which was won by Michael Treay, Ray Noy and M Beer with 55.667 net, the runners-up were Sho Fujimoto, Jeff Ridge and S Braddy with 56.167 net. Wednesday October 21st Single Stroke winner was Peter Turner with 58 net and the runner-up was R Swan with 63 net. The ladies winner was Gail Spann with 66 net and the runner-up on a count-back was Sandra Rawlinson with 67 net. Saturday October 24th was the President’s Shield Single Stroke event which was won by Jeff Arndt with 65 net and the runner-up on a count-back was Theo Kamps. The ladies winner was Pat Rodgers with 68 net and the runner-up on a count-back was Carrol Alfonso. Wednesday October 28th 2 Ball Best Ball stroke winners were D Lowrie and R Swan with 54 net and the runners-up on a count-back were M Wall and Greg Cain. Saturday October 31st 3 person Ambrose winners were Larry Fabian, Jack Huisman and Ian Gilleard with 55.333 and the runners-up were John Broughton, Mike Ford and Anne Bartlett with 55.833. Wednesday November 4th stableford winner was Darrel Dugdale with 40 points and the runner-up on a count-back was Tony Flannagan with 37 points. The ladies winner was Caryl Durand with 44 points and the runner-up was Sue Domrow with 40 points. Wednesday November 4th was the completion of the 2 Ball Best Ball Championships which was won by Jeff and Mel Ridge defeating Nigel McLachlan and Lee Petersen. Saturday November 7th Men’s Monthly Medal A Grade winner was Jack Huisman with 67 net and the runner-up was Terry Fry with 68 net. B Grade winner was Jeff Arndt with 67 net and the runner-up was Sho Fujimoto with 68 net. There was no G Grade due to lack of numbers Wednesday November 11th 2 Ball Best Ball aggregate stableford winners were Greg Cain and Marco Mohler with 76 points. The runners-up were Jason Heskins and Sho Fujimoto with 72 points. Saturday November 14th 3 person Ambrose winners were Marco Mohler, Sho Fujimoto and Kevin O’Malley with a net 51.333 and the runners-up were Greg Cain, Jack Burnitt and Wayne Burnitt with a net 54.500. Wednesday November 18th stroke game winner was Terry Fry with a net 64 and the runner-up on a count-back was Theo Kamps with a net 66. The ladies winner was Sue Domrow with a net 63 and the runner-up was Alyson Soul with a net 64. - Laurie FleminG, Golf Captain.

bottom of page